Three Eritreans in MTN-Qhubeka Tour De France squad

Three Eritreans in MTN-Qhubeka Tour De France squad

Radio Erena : 03 June 2015


MTN-Qhubeka are set to make history this year when they become the first African-registered cycling team to participate in the Tour de France.

Seven African riders and four internationals make up the squad.

The three South African riders in the squad are South African national road race champion Jacques Janse van Rensburg, African continental road race champion Louis Meintjes and fast finishing Reinardt Janse van Rensburg.


MTN-Qhubeka’s Eritrean trio, who were all part of Eritrea’s continental team time-trial victory this year, have all also made the selection.

Merhawi Kudus, Daniel Teklehaimanot and Natnael Berhane will each by vying for one of the final nine starting spots. The final African rider on the list is Algerian Tour de Langkawi victor, Youcef Reguigui.

Experienced internationals Edvald Boasson Hagen, Steve Cummings, Serge Pauwels and Tyler Farrar complete the line-up.

Over the coming month the team will head to a number of races around Europe, including the Criterium du Dauphine and Ster ZLM Toer, and it is only after these events that the decision will be made as to who the final nine Tour de France riders will be.


Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway) 

Natnael Berhane (Eritrea) 

Steve Cummings (Great Britain) 

Tyler Farrar (USA) 

Jacques Janse van Rensburg (South Africa) 

Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (South Africa) 

Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea) 

Louis Meintjes (South Africa) 

Serge Pauwels (Belgium) 

Youcef Reguigui (Algeria) 

Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea)
source :